Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit

deli cover



This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


Lo-fi Sideways Orange releases new LP, We Are The Moon Dogs, and play OUR House, 10/31

Remember the 90s? Drive-in movie theaters, cassette tapes, and Al Gore have faded, but the music has persisted most. Richmond’s own Sideways Orange has cultivated their sound from such influences, with a bedrock of punk, alternative, and garage rock, dressed sensibly in postmodern lo-fi and indie. It’s the kind of soundtrack kids would use for skateboarding videos, but is mature and high-energy enough for the underground venue of your choice. Get yourself a copy of their latest album, We Are The Moon Dogs, and check them out when they play a Halloween show at OUR House on 10/31.


Bluesy folk Red Sammy release new album Creeps and Cheaters and play Eastern Shore Brewing, 11/7

At the intersection of blues-rock, Americana, and folk, you’ll find Baltimore’s Red Sammy rambling along, thumb out for a ride. These guys have concocted an effective and relatable sound from life’s tumbles, love, loss, and pain, reaching deep into their roots and pulling out blue-collar gold. If your heart has an ache or need to wave your lighter in the air, look no further than Red Sammy and their spare yet poetic new album Creeps and Cheaters. -Jonathan Goodwin


Indie pop darlings Parks Landing release new single, Little Plane

Reaching from Baltimore to your heart, Parks Landing has a great swirl of pop and rock topped with some indie, rife with sweet riffs and tireless drumming. Their new single, Little Plane, is radio-ready and has chart potential thanks to its upbeat, hopeful sound, perfect grasp of repetition, and energetic female vocals. Their melodies are reminiscent of Death Cab for Cutie and Best Coast, so keep a weather eye out for the full EP which is due soon!


Dream pop outfit Positive No play The Southern, 10/24

They defy every expectation with their sound, to say the least. Positive No, an indie pop rock group out of Richmond, has crafted a standout musicality with punk, dream pop, and indie influences all over the place, matched with an unpredictable flair for shifting crescendos. The energy is infectious and vocalist Tracy Wilson will have your attention within seconds, wrapping you around her little finger until the show’s end. Check out their wild and surprising jams at The Southern in Charlottesville on 10/24 at 10pm.


Synth-new wave Jumpcuts releases lyric video for new single Headlights

Founded in 2008, Jumpcuts has seen several iterations of its lineup, but the quality remains. The Baltimore-based Andy Shankman founded the band and artfully constructed its standout rocktronic flavor, mixing catchy vocal bits with swirls of instrumentals and synthesizers. Due to release a new 7”, Fiber Optic Bondage, Jumpcuts has put out a new single and accompanying video, Headlights, which you can catch below. It’s hopeful and dancy and should find a new home on your playlist. -Jonathan Goodwin



Which of these emerging local acts should be The Deli New England's next Artist of the Month?

[sponsored by]

- news for musician and music pros -